Illinois Traffic Violation and DUI Lawyers
Unlawful Use of License or Permit
Last updated on
What may be considered by some to be an inconsequential traffic violation can actually become a legal nightmare. Under Illinois law, it is illegal to use a canceled, revoked, or suspended license or permit as authorization to drive on this state’s roads. While that is probably obvious to anyone with a license, the details of what constitutes a violation of this law and the consequences are not so obvious.
Under 625 ILCS 5/6-301 of the Illinois Vehicle Code, there are several provisions of how a person can be accused and convicted of this crime. There are also several situations in which a person can be convicted of this crime of which you may not be aware.
Details of the Offense
The description of this traffic violation is pretty straightforward. A person is not permitted to do any of the following with a canceled, revoked, or suspended license or permit:
- Display or causing such a license or permit to be displayed, or even having such a license or permit in your possession;
- Lend out such a license or permit, or allow one to be used at all by another;
- Fail to turn in such a license or permit when asked to do so by an authorized agent of the state;
- Allow anyone else to use even a valid permit or license;
- Take the licensure exam for another, or get someone else to take the exam for you.
When someone receives a ticket for this offense, it usually states “Displaying or Possessing a Canceled, Revoked, or Suspended License or Permit” on the ticket. But as you can see, this law covers much more than that. This law has many ways in which it can go after someone and bring serious charges.
Consequences for Violating This Law
As far as traffic violations go, breaking this law is not a small offense. In fact, it is a big deal because a violation of this law is a Class A misdemeanor under Illinois law. This is the most serious category of misdemeanor under Illinois law, and is one step below a felony offense. Under the law, when a person is convicted of a Class A misdemeanor, a judge is empowered to hand down severe penalties. Those penalties can range from a Fine of up to $2,501 and a jail term of up to one year.
If a person is convicted of using a fake driver’s license or permit in any of the ways described here, then by law, the judge is required to do one or more of the following:
- Attach notice of a conviction of a Class A misdemeanor to the person’s record;
- Impose a minimum fine of $500, or 50 hours of community service;
- Sentence the person to a minimum of seven days in jail.
As you can see, it is a serious issue with mandatory jail time and fines to be imposed upon conviction. That is why understanding this law and knowing how to defend against its charges is critical to anyone facing the charge of displaying or possessing a canceled, revoked, or suspended license. If you are facing charges under this law, contact us today at the Driver Defense Team. We will help you understand what your options are, and provide you with the best defense available.