Illinois Traffic Violation and DUI Lawyers
Speeding in a Construction Zone
Last updated on
If you’re ticketed for Speeding in a Construction Zone (625 ILCS 5/11-605.1), you’re facing high fines, a conviction on your record, and potentially even a suspension of your driver’s license.
If you want to fight the charges and limit the penalties, you should consider hiring an experienced traffic defense lawyer. The questions and answers below should help you understand more about your tickets and what you are facing.
Do workers need to be present?
In Illinois, an offense of speeding in a construction zone can occur whether or not there are actual workers present. However, the statute requires that there must be signage posted advising drivers of the construction and maintenance zone. The signs must advise drivers that they are approaching a construction or maintenance speed zone.
What is the speed limit in a construction zone?
The speed limit may be the same as it is normally. In other cases, it may be temporarily reduced while the area is under construction. Regardless, there must be signs stating that you’re entering a construction zone or that there is a reduced speed limit and there is a minimum fine for violating the construction zone speed limit.
Is it a criminal offense?
Speeding in a construction zone is not a criminal offense unless the speed is more than 26 miles over the limit. If the speed is less than 26 miles over the limit, it is a petty offense but the penalties can be serious. Click on the chart below to see the different types of speeding tickets in Illinois.
What are the penalties for speeding in an Illinois Construction Zone?
For a first violation, the minimum fine is $375 plus mandatory court costs. That puts the total cost over $600. If there is a second violation, the minimum fine is $750 plus court costs.
Can my driver’s license be suspended?
If there is a second offense within 2 years of a prior violation and there were workers present, then the Secretary of State will also suspend the driver’s license for a period of 90 days.