Naperville DUI Lawyers
If you have been arrested for a DUI in Illinois, you should not take it lightly. Retaining an aggressive Naperville DUI lawyer is important. The right criminal defense attorney can make or break the outcome of your case. Illinois imposes harsh penalties for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. A DUI conviction could result in incarceration, loss of driving privileges, and more. Even a misdemeanor conviction on your record can change your life forever. Don’t risk your future, retain a skilled Naperville DUI lawyer right away.
First DUI Offense in Illinois
It’s understandable that you are scared if this is your first DUI offense in Illinois. You may not realize that when you are arrested, it actually triggers two distinct legal actions that need to be resolved. The first is the criminal offense you are facing charges for. The second is the State of Illinois’s action to suspend your driver’s license.
If you are convicted, the penalties for your first DUI can vary. You could be facing jail time, hefty fines and costs, plus the revocation of your driving privileges. In most cases, a first DUI offense is charged as a misdemeanor. However, some circumstances may warrant charging as a felony. One example is when you are arrested for a DUI and you did not have a valid driver’s license at the time.
Penalties for a DUI in Naperville
The penalties for driving under the influence in Naperville will vary based on the circumstances of the incident. Were you pulled over by an officer or was there an accident that left someone injured, or worse? Penalties will increase based on whether this is your second, third, fourth DUI, etc.
If your BAC was 0.16 or higher, there are additional penalties. The fine will be at least another $500 and 100 hours of community service. If you had a child under 16 in the car, you could spend up to six months in jail, a minimum, a mandatory fine of $1000, and 25 days of community service. Your community service must be in a program that benefits children.
Your Naperville DUI lawyer will sit down with you and explain the specific penalties you are facing. For example, your first DUI could carry one to 364 days in jail while a third DUI could result in three to seven years in prison. Fines for your first DUI might be up to $2,500 while a third DUI is up to $25,000.
Frequently Asked Question on Naperville DUI Charges
Clients who are arrested for a DUI understandably have a lot of questions. Here are answers to two of the most common questions we get.
Is a DUI a Misdemeanor?
Most first-time DUIs are misdemeanors, which means you may be eligible for Court Supervision, which is a non-conviction disposition; Conditional Discharge; and Probation. When the charge is a felony, it’s because the potential penalties exceed 364 days in jail.
Can You Get a DUI on your record?
A conviction, even for a misdemeanor, means that it is going to stay on your record. Having a criminal conviction on your record can cause significant problems down the line. It could cost you employment opportunities, housing rentals, immigration issues, and more.
Contact a Naperville DUI Lawyer
If you have been arrested for a DUI-related charge, don’t attempt to handle it on your own. Contact Driver Defense Team today to schedule an initial consultation.